AR  Suicide Prevention

A special thank you to the sponsors who make this website possible:


Chair:  Tanya Phillips, MEd, MHS

An Operation Iraqi Freedom Veteran who served as a Battalion S-2 and Military Intelligence Commander.  She holds a Bachelors in Criminal Justice, a Master's in Education, and a Master's in Health and Human Performance.  She currently serves as the Veteran representative on the Governor's Arkansas Suicide Prevention Council and is the co-founder for the Arkansas Suicide Prevention Network.   

Vice Chair:  Richard Maxwell

North Little Rock native and graduated from NLR High School. He served as a Forward Observer in the U.S. Army and is a Veteran of Operation Iraqi Freedom.  He is a graduate of UALR with degrees in History and Political Science. He currently serves as a military and Veterans Affairs representative for the office of Congressman French Hill. Richard has three children and currently resides in North Little Rock.

Secretary:  Susan Downs

A third generation Air Force Veteran who served four years at Carswell, AFB, in Fort Worth, Texas and two years in the Air National Guard at Little Rock Air Force Base.  Currently semi-retired and working as a legal transcriptionist from home. Joined the VMHC to help others like herself.  Hobbies include movies and artwork as a colorist who also dabbles in watercolor and acrylic paint.

Public Relations and Technology Guru:  Taylor LoBue

Founder of the Central Arkansas Veterans Mental Health Council.

Veteran Outreach Chair:  Johnny Cartwright

Combat Veteran from Batesville, Arkansas.  Johnny served in the Arkansas Army National Guard with the 39th Infantry Brigade, 2/153rd Bulldogs as an 11Bravo (infantry hooah) and with the 87th Troop Command, 875th IED Route Clearance.. Among his missions include Egypt in 2001 as well as Iraq in 2003 and 2006.

Incarcerated Veterans Task Force Chair:  Ambrose Kobb

A Combat Veteran